The Florida Department of Education recently announced the names of schools in the Tampa Bay area that have earned the Five Star School Award for the 2015-16 school year. The award is bestowed upon schools that are committed to incorporating family and community members into the school environment to enhance student learning. Statewide, nearly 700 schools earned the recognition. To earn Five Star School recognition, a school must show that it has achieved all of the benchmarks and criteria in five categories – Community/Business Partnerships, Family Involvement, Volunteerism, Student Community Service and School Advisory Council. Schools must also earn a grade of “C” or above or a school improvement rating of “Maintaining” or “Improving” for the year being recognized. Below are the schools in Pasco County that received the Five Star School Award for the 2015-16 school year:

  • Elementary
    • Cotee River, Cypress, Deer Park, Double Branch, James M. Marlowe, Mittye P. Locke, New River, Oakstead, Odessa, Pine View, San Antonio, Sanders Memorial, Seven Oaks, Trinity Oaks, Veterans, and Watergrass elementary schools
  • Middle
    • River Ridge Middle School
  • High
    • Gulf, Land O’ Lakes, Pasco, River Ridge, Sunlake, Wesley Chapel, and Wiregrass high schools

To view the entire list of schools awarded, please visit Five Star School Award.